Writer Wednesday: Work Done, Work to BE done!

 

What a week. Where do the hours in the day go? No excuses, let’s go to the board:

 

1) We’re gonna do it this week: 5 posts on this blog! Can I do it?? Let’s see!!

This is post 3 of 5 this week!

2) Tighten up Missed Opportunity and repost the story to my critique forum. I’m late on this. This must be done tonight before I get to other things I need to do!

Done and done! I am so pumped to say that I am done with this story. I can’t wait to start looking for some places to submit it to!!

3) May was designated to characters in my novel. This month, we’re working on culture/politics/religion and other aspects of world building. This week, I’m working on culture. So excited!

I haven’t done a lot with this yet, but I WILL tomorrow night. This week, I’m thinking about designing the main setting where the book will take place: I originally imagined it to be a school, but now I’m more imagining it as a thinktank. This change makes me really excited and will put a lot into the plot!

4) Create a Flash Fiction for this week’s challenge. I didn’t get a chance to finish late week, but this week, I’ll have something posted by Friday. My words are mint, divorce, moon.

I have an idea. I know that there will be a mint julep in it somewhere. I was hoping to get this done during nap time, but seeing as my eldest son has decided not to take a nap…soooooooo….we’ll see. But I am running out of time. I will take the time tonight!

5) Get inspired for Short Story Saturday (something I haven’t done in a few weeks)

I have a few ideas rolling around in my head. This, too, will happen.

 

Are there enough hours between now and Friday to get all of this done? I don’t know!

3 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: Work Done, Work to BE done!

  1. Oh, oh, I love worldbuilding!! So much FUN! I created all the religions of my fantasy story last month. I’m still working on some culture things, and I think some stuff may just pan out while I write. Good luck with your worldbuilding! I hope you have fun, too! 🙂

    • Thanks, Sandra! I want to love worldbuilding, but it terrifies me. The project and creativity of it makes me excited, but I’m worried that I will build too much or too little. So many other writing advice places say DON’T OVER BUILD but then they never say what overbuilding looks like!

      So I am going to do my best to do a little bit of a lot. 🙂

      • I’m not really sure what over building is either. If it’s scary, just try to stick to one culture or race and expand it from there. I try to separate cultures in different journals. It makes things easier. As long as you make your world believable and enjoyable to readers, then you have nothing to worry about. Focus on little things: like what people eat, what they wear, how they talk to one another. I guess it grows from there. I’m no expert or anything, but I am sure having fun with worldbuilding right now! If you need any help I can certainly try to help out!

        And thanks for following! I shall follow you back. : )

Leave a Reply

