Writer Wednesday: What a Long Week…

 

What an emotional and incredible week–I’ve been allllll caught up in Supreme Court stuff this week. I have done some writing, but most of my time has been dedicated to news. Thanks to Jeff Kent’s suggestion, I also researched Amazon KDP for publishing some of my short stories. I’m exploring this, but I’m still unsure. Is it worth the cost of cover art and what not? What’s up with the 30% vs. 70%? And yeah, I mean, is my writing good enough for that? I just don’t know…

Let’s go to the board.

1) 5 posts this week. Yup, we’re gonna do it. 

This is post 3 of the week. Looking forward to popping another out tomorrow!

2) Complete the short story that I started last week, The Hand that Feeds You, and post it for critique. 

Working on this tonight. Going back from scratch, but not in a bad way. I know exactly what direction that I want it to go in. Looking forward to my writing community tearing it apart on Friday.

3) Write this week’s flash fiction for Chuck’s challenge. I rolled a good one! Superhero plus Occult Detective, must have forbidden love and a pool of blood. Ohhhhh yeaaaah. It’s gonna be awesome. 

Will probably spend most of my time writing this on Thursday. I have an idea rattling in my head. I think that it’s going to be awesome if I can pull it off.

4) Rework the short story that I wrote for my writing community this weekend. It kind of went out of control, but I like the concept: Michael and Gabriel go all cowboy style in the wild west looking for Lucifer. I know, I know, I know, it doesn’t sound awesome, but like, there is something about it that has the potential to be awesome, so I’m working on it. Don’t judge me! 

I haven’t received any feedback on what I originally posted (probably not a good sign). Will table this to Saturday.

5) Come up with a new schedule for work on my novel, A Terrible Thing to Waste, because my current timeline is broken (which totally sucks). Post for accountability. 

*sigh* I feel this beautiful story slipping away from me. I haven’t even thought about it. Writing a novel is important to me. I want to do it, I need to do it, and this story means a lot to me. I will make this a priority this weekend.

 

My goodness. I turned to my husband this morning and lamented that it’s only Wednesday. Time seems to be moving so damned slowly. But if that’s the case, I should have way more to show for my week. Time to get it into gear!!

2 thoughts on “Writer Wednesday: What a Long Week…

  1. So I see you are in a writing community. Something like a writer’s group where everyone reads each others’ work? I’ve sort of been wanting to do that but I’m worried about joining a group of bad, bad, bad, bad, bad writers. I hate lying, I hate looking at someone who is so awful they’ll never make it, and saying to them how “interesting” and “creative” their work is. And how dare I say they’ll never make it, right? I’m not even in such a group and I’m already feeling guilty about it. And then there’s that personal fear that I’m one of them and just don’t know it. Nobody bad thinks they’re bad. But I wouldn’t mind belonging to a group of average skills, give or take. People who actually “have something.” Better still, people who won’t think everything you write is either perfect or terrible, or have a bunch of awful advise on how to fix it.

    What’s your group like?

  2. I meant to reply to this earlier, Jeff! Sorry about that!

    My writer’s community is kind of a casual group–most of the folks seem to be published, and they give a lot of important feedback. I think that people give fairly sincere feedback, and if the work sucks, they tell you so. I’ve certainly had two pieces ripped to shreds, but I’ve worked on them and the feedback has been awesome. You can only get better if you choose to let your guard down and allow people to say what they want.

    I think that there are some people who choose to hold back because markets have been so hard-ass about “first publication” on the web–even if content is being workshopped. I think that’s annoying, and some of the better writers in the group hold back because of that. Because I’m just starting out, I’m posting on the forum and on the site just to feel more comfortable with the process–I write, I edit, I like, I post, I get feedback (good, bad or indifferent) and I’m ok with that. Eventually I’ll be more scrupulous about what I post.

    Or I’ll just self pub so it won’t matter.

    Or I’ll stay in “I keep posting stuff for free” Hell forever.

    Anyhoo, it’s an active group and that’s what I need. The other writing community that I belong to seems to be fairly dead.

Leave a Reply

