Optimism Monday: Work Sometimes Pulls You Through

I’m sure you know the news right now about the verdict from the Zimmerman trial. As a mother of two beautiful bi-racial boys, I’m sure you can understand how disappointed I am. I’m not going to spend a lot of time talking about my thoughts in this space, but I will say that I’m going to be working with that much more vigor and intensity…sometimes you have to work through the pain. Sometimes, you have to work through the anger. I’m excited about dedicating this raw energy and passion in working furthering my dreams and the dreams of my sons.

That being said, there is a lot going on in my life. We’re moving to a new apartment while we continue our search for a house (see my post tomorrow), and I think that I might have met the house of my dreams. Good thing I need an extra 70 grand or so to make it workable. Not because we can’t afford the asking price…but because it needs a new septic system ($20-30k!), a new kitchen, a shower, and a way to finish the attic.

You know, no big deal.

So if any of ya’ll have a super rich uncle who really likes moms and likes to cut charitable checks for $70 grand, just let me know!!!

*sigh* Let’s work out our task list:

1) I freaking must finish the prequel for Before Her TIme. I am 2,000 words into this thing, and it shows no signs of stopping. I think that I’m allllmoooosssstttt there, but I think that I have another 2,000 words more before this story is complete. Excerpt by Friday. EXCERPT BY FRIDAY!!!! (roar!)

2) Flash Fiction for Chuck this week? Let’s pick a line right now… Here we go: “That plan didn’t fly, superhero, and now we’re short a bazooka.” I liked this line the first time I read it and it has been with me all weekend. I envision a wedding. Let’s see.

3) Write out 1000 words of a YA concept that I have. I’m going to guard this one close to the vest because I think that the idea is interesting and viable. I might share this with my writing group before I put it on this blog. Well… maybe I’ll share a little bit. We’ll see. 🙂

4) Start the rewrite for Before Her Time. Notice I said “start.” Very ambiguous! Let’s see if we can make that a 100 word minimum, just so I don’t get cute and write only one sentence.

This is a busy week but an important week. I want to get to Friday night exhausted and out of words.

Let’s go out and have a productive week. A week for dreamers, workers, cabbages and kings!

Leave a Reply

