Writer Wednesday: Heh.

 

Yeah, that’s how I’m going to describe this week. Just a shrug and a “heh.” I was really hoping that the boys were going to settle in to this new place and that we were going to keep it moving as a happy family. I also thought that the stress of moving would pass over me, allowing me to open my mind to writing again.

What I didn’t plan for, on any of our accounts, was the physical fatigue.

Moving is fucking exhausting. We got movers to do the heavy lifting, but there seems to be a lot of lifting and hauling and moving and pushing and pulling after the fact. Not to mention the fact that I went from very flat apartment living to 2 big stair cases of townhouse living. With babies.

So my body is still sore, my brain is still cloudy, and while my muse is fighting to get these ideas out, communication is getting lost in the haze. I wrote 400 words of Chuck’s Flash Fiction last night, and I have ideas coming at me left and right. I can only pray on the time and energy to get them down on digital paper.

So let’s go to the board:

1) I’m so pumped about Chuck’s Flash Fiction challenge this week. We’ve got to create our own “punk” genre and the muse threw something cool at me: Blacksploitation Samurai-Punk. Oh yeah. Get pumped. It’s going to be a great week.

and I’m still pumped. The 400 words that I have are pretty solid and I’m excited about getting on to this fight. I’m a little worried–this will be the first fight that I’ve ever written. Hope I create something good with the opportunity!

2) I’m going to, for the love of God, edit this prequel for Before Her Time. I’m excited to finish and put it back out there.

I think I’m going to edit it but not post it to my writer’s group. There were two members who read it and commented, and I’ll give them the opportunity to read it again if they’d like…but It has ballooned to almost 6,000 words and that’s a lot to ask strangers to read. We’ll see.

3) I have notes in my notebook for a start of the reboot for the original Before Her Time. What I have (5 handwritten pages) is pretty good. I’m going to digitize and continue. I’d like to post that by the end of the week.

I might have this written, but it would be too choppy to post. And again, I don’t know how I feel about posting super long pieces…we’ll see.

One thought on “Writer Wednesday: Heh.

Leave a Reply

